Welshman Jac Morgan is at the heart of a controversy shaking the rugby world. He is one of only two players from Wales, along with Tomos Williams, to have been selected to represent the British & Irish Lions. Morgan came on late in Saturday’s match against Australia and executed a ruck clear-out right on the edge of the rules, which led directly to a try. Since then, the controversy has only grown.
His substitution in the 54th minute, replacing Tom Curry, seemed minor at the time, but it ended up turning the tide of Saturday’s game between the Lions and Australia. The Lions, a team composed of players from England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland, entered the game as favourites after winning the first match in this three-Test series.
Yet with just one minute left on the clock, the British side trailed 26–24. During their final attack, Australian flanker Carlo Tizzano attempted to jackal the ball at a ruck. Jac Morgan then arrived at full speed and delivered a highly effective clear-out. Tizzano collapsed, clutching his head. The Lions scrum-half immediately passed the ball to Keenan, who scored the winning try.
Jac Morgan’s clean-out, reviewed by the TMO but left unpenalised, led to strong reactions. Had a foul been called on that play, Australia would have come away with the win. As Tizzano was struck around the neck area, rugby fans around the world questioned the legality of Morgan’s move. One specific law, rarely enforced by referees but cited here to justify the non-call—has since come under scrutiny: Law 15.3. According to this rule, any player participating in a ruck must remain on their feet and must not have their shoulders lower than their hips. In this case, the Australian was judged to be in an illegal position, which led the referee to rule Morgan’s clear-out as legal despite its impact on Tizzano.
Nevertheless, Australian rugby supporters are crying foul—especially given that Carlo Tizzano has been ruled out of the third Test. Australia’s head coach justified the decision: “The only thing I’ll say in Carlo’s defence is that he sustained over 54 Gs of direct force to the neck, and a rotational force of 220 RAD, which is enough to cause serious injury. Not necessarily for a rugby player as well-trained as Carlo, but he needs rest.”
A serious impact, nonetheless, from Jac Morgan.
The Australians will have a chance to take their revenge against the British & Irish Lions on Saturday, August 2, as they try to avoid a 3–0 series whitewash.
Image source : Getty Image






Laisser un commentaire